Simple details that make a difference

Do you have some favorite easy meals that you make when away from your kitchen?

Pasta is one of mine.

I try to make it nutritious usually by adding some vegetables and beans instead of making just a plain pasta with tomato sauce.

Today's combo was one of those super unassuming ones that turn out so delicious!

I'm away from my kitchen and didn't have much variety of ingredients when making this meal.

In the afternoon I had roasted one carnival squash by simply slicing it in half, scooping out the seeds, placing each half upside down on a baking sheet and roasting at 350F for about 40 minutes. I usually serve this type of squash with something inside each half, like soup or vegetables with some sauce, like this:

Today I scooped out the squash flesh to mix with the pasta, this was such a nice touch to the pasta dish!

I added peas and corn to the tomato sauce.

I sautéed some kale in a bit of extra virgin olive oil, a dash of salt and a sprinkle of garlic powder.

Tossed everything and topped with some vegan parmesan:

This is not my typical recipe article, it's just an example of how simple touches make a special meal.

Cintia