veggiessima

YourHobbyExposed

It's no surprise to anyone that follows me that my favorite hobby is snowboarding, there is something very magical about gliding through powder feeling the wind resistance while moving through space. It doesn't need to be super fast and the slope doesn't need to be too steep, I just enjoy dancing down the mountain at my pace, playing with the soft piles of snow with my feet.

As most of you know, I grew up in Brazil and didn't see snow until I was 34 years old and back then I thought every snow mountain was the same as far as snow conditions. I had no idea that there were different types of snow and that sometimes what looks like snow is actually ice and very treacherous. I had no idea that ski resorts make snow when Mother Nature is not in the mood for snow. I had no idea there was such a thing as a powder day. But as I got exposed to ski mountains, I learned how much the details can make a difference on the skiing experience.

The weather, the gear, the day of the week, the time of the day... there are so many things that can make the experience better!

I tried snowboarding out of curiosity and not truly believing it was something I could do because it was something very foreign to me and I didn't like cold weather. But how could I like it? I didn't have the appropriate gear for cold weather! It took time until I found the gear that worked well for me and in the beginning it was overwhelming to gather and put on all the accessories I needed but now it's second nature and I do it without much thinking.

This video is my entry for the Cinnamon Challenge #ChallengesByCin #YourHobbyExposed hosted by Srdan .

I tried to show some of the steps I go through before having a great snowboarding day, starting with getting up early to enjoy untouched snow that fell overnight. Sliding over untouched snow not only feels wonderful but it's soooo much easier than trying to snowboard later in the day after hundreds of people already skied and snowboarded down the trails and pushed the snow all over the place.

I hope you enjoy the video :–)

https://cinnamon.video/watch?v=505867598181696932

Cintia